where we left off

travelling, friends,

oh, i miss it

i miss the ease, the uncertainty
i shouldered uncharacteristically

i miss the adventure, mostly

nearly two months ago i ear marked our story
on the beaches of nice

beautiful nice lead me to lyon,
a hybrid of old and new

medieval buildings mingle with industrial new era structures
ancient bridges connect these two worlds, both of which i explored

lyon introduced me to beautiful people (my couchsurfing hosts)

marie, lithe, bubbly, and bobbed,
ushered me in with overwhelming positivity

she made me dinner and baked a cake,
special for my arrival

william, music junkie,
spent more time with me than anyone

our conversations involved a lot of “ums” and “uhs”
because my french is not french at all and his english
is built like the skeleton of a building — hollow save for the foundation

still, i enjoyed his company,
the silly conversations and musical
jams

he let me record my singing voice
and laughed because i couldn’t freestyle
or find a melody that was my own

in lyon there were music festivals
whose notes filled narrow streets and
the insides of coffee shops

i ate (more) crepes,
drank (more) wine,
ate (more) croissants

my feet found solace on pavement, gently gliding me up hills,
or walking, endlessly, flat miles

i fended off rain, who i hadn’t seen since leaving ireland

i met beautiful, funny french people
who did not understand my animated american speech,
but who listened openly anyway, smiling

i don’t know if any of these people i met while traveling
will remember me, the sometimes-shy american girl traveling alone with two backpacks (another story for another time)

i will remember them though,
and all the kindness shone my way

in total i spent five days in lyon,
leaving only because i craved sunshine and
a new adventure

the gusts of change blew me over to switzerland

where i learned some valuable life lessons
i will tell you all about another time

much love,

zoe

(p.s: sending my love to those affected by the hurricane on the east coast. hope you are all well and safe and dry.)

This entry was published on October 30, 2012 at 12:53 pm. It’s filed under happy heart, happy life, life, life and living, photography, rambles and writing, story time, travel, travel stories, words, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “where we left off

  1. your photos of these old buildings make me long for europe.

  2. I read an interview the other day with an artist who travels to Asia a lot. He said that traveling makes you more susceptible, because you’re continuously on the tip of your toes. Even if nothing significant happens, you’re more open to receiving its message. I think that’s how I feel about it too. That my senses, all of them, are more aware or alert when I am away from ‘routine’ and ‘regular’

Leave a Reply

